© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

8/16/2014 10:37 P.M. ET

Replay confirms no violation on play at plate in Miami

Marlins catcher Mathis gives clear lane, tags Inciarte for key out in D-backs loss

MIAMI -- D-backs manager Kirk Gibson asked for and was granted a crew-chief review of a possible violation of Rule 7.13 in the first inning of Arizona's 2-1 loss to the Marlins on Saturday night.

Rule 7.13 governs whether or not a catcher has illegally blocked home plate.

With runners on first and second, D-backs outfielder David Peralta singled to center and Ender Inciarte attempted to score from second on the play. Marlins center fielder Marcell Ozuna made a nice throw home, and Inciarte was tagged out by Marlins catcher Jeff Mathis. Gibson came out to ask home-plate umpire Jordan Baker if he would review the play to see if Mathis was blocking the plate.

Gibson couldn't tell from his angle in the dugout whether Mathis gave Inciarte a lane to slide, but he didn't hesitate to talk to Baker.

"I knew I was going to go out and ask, because you never know," Gibson said. "We had one and it went the other way on us before, so you go out and ask."

After a one-minute, 27-second review, the ruling on the field was confirmed and there was no violation of Rule 7.13.

"Honestly, I didn't think there was going to be anything to come out of that one," Mathis said, confident he gave a lane. "I was in front of the plate. That's the first time, while the throw was in the air, I really looked to see where I was at.

"I knew I was in front of the plate. I knew it was going to take me across the baseline. That's when I backed up, to get myself a better hop. Ozuna made a great throw."

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Inside the D-backs, and follow him on Twitter @SteveGilbertMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.