© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/6/2014 7:34 P.M. ET

Goldschmidt elected to start at first base in 85th All-Star Game at Target Field

PHOENIX - Paul Goldschmidt has been elected as the starting first baseman for the National League All-Star Team in the 85th Midsummer Classic to be played July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn.

This marks the second straight All-Star selection for Goldschmidt and the D-backs' fourth fan-elected starter, joining Jay Bell (second base) and Matt Williams (third) in 1999 and Luis Gonzalez (outfield) in 2001.

Goldschmidt received 3,516,890 votes, ahead of the Dodgers' Adrian Gonzalez (1,888,648) and Cardinals' Matt Adams (1,746,904). The 2013 NL Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Award winner at first base was in fifth place in the initial balloting figures on May 28, and accumulated 2,732,864 votes over the last four updates, when he was second with 784,026.

Goldschmidt, who is the first D-back to make consecutive All-Star teams since pitcher Dan Haren in 2008-09, is hitting .310 (104-for-336) with 32 doubles, 16 home runs, 58 RBI, 50 walks and 64 runs scored in 89 games this season. He entered today's games as the only player in the Majors with at least 15 home runs and 30 doubles (Detroit's Miguel Cabrera has 14 home runs and 32 doubles).

The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15. The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network, MLB.com and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com.


Year      Players - Position (Starter in bold)

1998       Devon White - OF

1999       Jay Bell - 2B, Luis Gonzalez - OF, Randy Johnson - LHP, Matt Williams - 3B

2000       Steve Finley - OF, Randy Johnson - LHP

2001       Luis Gonzalez - OF, Randy Johnson - LHP, Curt Schilling - RHP

2002       Luis Gonzalez - OF, Randy Johnson - LHP, Byung-Hyum Kim - RHP, Damian Miller - C,

              Junior Spivey - INF, Curt Schilling - RHP

2003       Luis Gonzalez - OF

2004       Randy Johnson - LHP

2005       Luis Gonzalez - OF

2006       Brandon Webb - RHP

2007       Orlando Hudson - 2B, Jose Valverde - RHP, Brandon Webb - RHP

2008       Dan Haren - RHP, Brandon Webb - RHP

2009       Dan Haren - RHP, Justin Upton - OF

2010       Chris Young - OF

2011       Miguel Montero - C, Justin Upton - OF

2012       Wade Miley - LHP

2013       Patrick Corbin - LHP, Paul Goldschmidt - 1B

2014       Paul Goldschmidt - 1B

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.