© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/01/11 11:35 PM ET

Parra claims first career Gold Glove Award

D-backs left fielder known for rocket arm, great catches

PHOENIX -- D-backs manager Kirk Gibson often referred to left fielder Gerardo Parra's arm as a weapon.

Turns out his glove was golden as well.

Parra was rewarded for an outstanding year in left field with his first career Rawlings Gold Glove Award on Tuesday.

Parra had 12 outfield assists, tying him for the National League lead with Colorado's Carlos Gonzalez and with Eric Byrnes for the most in club history.

The National League winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the number of Gold Gloves each has won.
C Yadier Molina, Cardinals 4
1B Joey Votto, Reds 1
2B Brandon Phillips, Reds 3
3B Placido Polanco, Phillies 3
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies 2
LF Gerardo Parra, D-backs 1
CF Matt Kemp, Dodgers 2
RF Andre Ethier, Dodgers 1
P Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers 1

Parra is the third Arizona player to win a Gold Glove, joining outfielder Steve Finley and second baseman Orlando Hudson. Finley won the award in 1999-2000, while Hudson did so in 2006-07.

According to The Fielding Bible, Parra was a plus-14 (the amount of plays he made that an average fielder would not have), which ranked second among left fielders.

Parra got the attention of Braves slugger Chipper Jones on May 18, when he threw him out at third base from just in front of the left-field wall. Later in the inning, Parra also nailed Dan Uggla trying to advance to third.

"The first one wasn't good enough from the 376 sign," Jones said sarcastically after the game. "But the second one, running in barehanded, was even better. We just tried to be a little aggressive, and he got the best of us there."

Parra finished the year with a .990 fielding percentage, with just three errors in 303 total chances.

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @dbackswriter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.