© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/11/07 1:39 PM ET

D-backs announce NLCS roster

Arizona carrying 11 pitchers, three catchers

PHOENIX -- The Arizona Diamondbacks announced their 25-man roster on Thursday for the National League Championship Series, and, as expected, it was the same one they used to sweep the Cubs in the NL Division Series last week.

The D-backs, who face the Rockies in Game 1 of the NLCS on Thursday night at Chase Field, elected to stick with 11 pitchers rather than 10 with an extra position player. The decision to carry 11 pitchers for the NLCS was easier than the the one made last series, given that it's a best-of-seven rather than best-of-five series.

"With a seven-game series, I think it would be more difficult even though we have the off-days to go 10," D-backs manager Bob Melvin said.

When the D-backs initially set their roster for the postseason, the final spot was believed to have been between infielders Emilio Bonifacio and Alberto Callaspo, with Callaspo getting the nod. He has been hobbled by a hamstring injury for the past six weeks, but has shown recent improvement.

Callaspo, who can play shortstop, third base and second base, hit .215 in 144 at-bats this season after hitting .341 in 59 games with Triple-A Tucson. Bonifacio hit .217 during an 11-game stint in September after hitting .285 in 132 games for Double-A Mobile.

Both players were given looks at second base after Orlando Hudson was lost on Sept. 5 with a torn ligament in his thumb. Augie Ojeda figures to start at second base during the series.

The D-backs also chose to continue to keep three catchers on the roster: Chris Snyder, Robby Hammock and Miguel Montero.

The presence of Hammock allows Melvin to feel more comfortable using Montero as a left-handed pinch-hitter off the bench.

complete coverage
Home  |  News  |  Multimedia  |  Photos
The Arizona roster is as follows:

Pitchers (11): Juan Cruz, Doug Davis, Edgar Gonzalez, Livan Hernandez, Brandon Lyon, Dustin Nippert, Micah Owings, Tony Pena, Doug Slaten, Jose Valverde, Brandon Webb.

Catchers (3): Robby Hammock, Miguel Montero, Chris Snyder.

Infielders (7): Alberto Callaspo, Jeff Cirillo, Tony Clark, Stephen Drew, Conor Jackson, Augie Ojeda, Mark Reynolds.

Outfielders (4): Eric Byrnes, Jeff Salazar, Justin Upton, Chris Young.

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.